I went down to RED Facilities to ask about a work placement. I met the studio head Max Howarth. He said that they don’t do work placements there but he took the time to sit and have a chat with me and show me around the studio. We talked for around 40 minutes and he gave me some really good advice regarding how the industry works and what skills are important. He told me that the technical knowledge is not as important as your social skills when working in a studio. He also said that the best thing to do, and the thing he would do if he was in my position, was to move down to London and search for work at one of the Soho post production houses as a trainee or apprentice. He suggested that I also try doing sound for theatre as it would give me good experience designing sound effects and would look good on my CV even if it isn’t paid employment.

