I went to rehearsals and watched the play. I had a chat with Jo afterwards asking what kind of lighting design she wanted. She said that there wasn’t really any light cues she wanted during acts 1 and 2. It was just fading up and blacking out at the right moments. As for act three there is a moment right before the end of the play where all of the lights fade down and a spotlight is put on the two actors dancing in the centre of the stage. She then gave me a copy of the script for me to go home and read over.

This is a fairly easy lighting operation which is good since I haven’t done lighting in a venue or a production this large before. It’s a good way for me to familiarise myself with working in a theatre and learn new, useful skills I wouldn’t learn at college. Skills i think would be useful across all creative industry sectors including film and television production.

Email 3

